The Parish of East Down

About the Village

The picturesque parish of East Down covers 3,643 acres and is made up of a number of small hamlets: Ashelford, Bugford, Beccott, Churchill, Clifton, East Down, Holwell, Indicott, Okewill, Shortacombe and Stonecombe. It is bordered to the North by rising hills with the Bristol Channel beyond.  The Parish is served by a village hall, a church and a public house. The population has been fairly steady since the 1960’s at around 220.  Only 12 per cent of the population are under 20 years of age, the smallest percentage for parishes in the Rural Alliance.  Work on the infrastructure of the tourism  industry indicates continued investment in the life of the parish.